CFP: 33rd Annual Conference of the Association for Israel Studies (Theme: Balfour Centennial)


The Program Committee of the 33rd Annual Conference of the Association for Israel Studies invites scholars conducting research on any aspect of Israel Studies to submit proposals for organized panels and individual papers. Of particular interest are proposals relating to the conference theme: A Century After Balfour: Vision and Reality.

A century after the Balfour Declaration we wish to revisit the possibilities and ideas reflected in this seminal document in the context of present realities. This centenary provides a lens for scholars to examine topics such as Israel’s attitudes towards imperialism and world powers, Israel in the context of the Middle East, relations between Diaspora Jews and the Zionist movement and the State of Israel, the meaning of a Jewish homeland, the imperative to secure the civil and religious rights of non-Jewish communities, and the role of international institutions in implementing the Declaration. These and other issues invite research and scholarship by the multiple disciplines that constitute the humanities and the social and political sciences.
Deadline for Submission of all proposals: January 15, 2017
  • Panel submissions and individual papers should be submitted using the online submission form.
  • Panel proposals should include information on the panel theme and on each individual paper. Proposals should not exceed 750 words.  We encourage cohesive panel submissions.
  • Individual paper proposals should not exceed 250 words.
  • All presenters will be required to register for the conference and be current AIS members in order to present and be listed on the conference program. Registration can be done directly at the AIS website.
  • Graduate students who have completed their course work are encouraged to submit their proposal and should provide the email of their advisor for approval.
Travel Grants:
  • All travel grant applications should be sent by email to Ilan Ben-Ami, AIS Treasurer, at:
  • Graduate students who wish to apply for travel grants should send a request along with a copy of their proposal and a letter from their advisor.
  • PhD holders without university travel support should send an abstract of the proposed paper and a current CV.
  • The travel grant application deadline is January 15, 2017.
Program Committee
David Ellenson, Chair
Gannit Ankori & Tal Dekel, Visual Arts
Shulamit Reinharz & Lilach Rosenberg-Friedman, Gender Studies
Andre Levy & Judith Goldstein, Anthropology
Bruce Phillips & Sergio Della Pergola, Communal Studies
Arye Naor & Yoram Peri, Communications
Sara Horowitz & Yaron Peleg, Film and Theater
Maoz Azaryahu and Shay Rabineau, Geography
Naomi Sokoloff & Yigal Schwartz, Hebrew Literature
Derek Penslar & Aviva Halamish, History
Uriel Abulof & Yael Aronoff, International Relations
Len Saxe & Jonathan Rynhold, Israel-Diaspora
Suzanne Last Stone & Rifat Azam, Law
Tamara Cofman Wittes & Stuart Cohen, National Security
Ilan Peleg & As’ad Ghanem, Arabs in Israel
Joel Migdal & Ayelet Harel-Shalev, Political Science
Tamir Sorek & Uri Ram, Sociology
Elie Rekhess & Khalil Shikaki, Arab-Israeli Conflict
Chaim Gans & Sara Hirschhorn, Zionism
Aziza Khazoom & Esther Meir-Glitzenstein, Ethnic Identities
Alex Sinclair & Ofra Backenroth, Education
Michal Shaul & Yehudah Mirsky, Religious Studies
Conference Coordinator

Schusterman Center for Israel Studies , Brandeis University, 415 South Street, MS 060, Waltham, MA 01760
Sent by in collaboration with
Constant Contact

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s